The Student Room Group

Things to do in Wrexham/Chester as student

I'm a first yearstudent in Wrexham. Im looking to meet more people. Any good clubs/volunteering I could join? I get so bored when at uni and miss home. Not slot to do so I don't know a huge amount of people outside my course. I'm looking to make friends in Chester too but can't join societies.
I appreciate any advice from students in the area
(edited 3 months ago)
Original post by Damitr05
I'm a first year Bangor student in Wrexham. Im looking to meet more people. Any good clubs/volunteering I could join? I get so bored when at uni and miss home. Not slot to do so I don't know a huge amount of people outside my course. I'm looking to make friends in Chester too but can't join societies.

Hi @Damitr05,

I am a student at the University of Chester, so hopefully I can help here! 🙂

While a lot of my volunteering is through the university, I've also found a few opportunities in the city. My favourite is to volunteer for Chester MBNA Marathon. I've met some lovely people while doing this, had such a blast at the three race days they have each year, and scored some awesome freebies!

I would also recommend having a look into Chester Cathedral, Storyhouse, Chester Zoo, and researching into the numerous parades held in the city to start. These places may have clubs/volunteering you can get involved in and also host some great events throughout the year.

It'll take a little bit of research and putting yourself out there, but there are definitely loads of things to get involved in!

I hope this helps - let me know if you have any questions 🙂

Isabella
Third-Year Geography with a Year Abroad Student
I'm a first yearstudent in Wrexham. Im looking to meet more people. Any good clubs/volunteering I could join? I get so bored when at uni and miss home. Not slot to do so I don't know a huge amount of people outside my course. I'm looking to make friends in Chester too but can't join societies.