The Student Room Group

My experience as a student ambassador

Hey, I'm Maleehah and I study LLB Law. I've been a Student Ambassador for two years now, so I thought I'd share my fave things about being an ambassador and why you should consider being one. 🙌

Being an ambassador
As a Student Ambassador, I have had the opportunity to partake in different events and outreach programmes across schools and colleges. The first-ever event I did was an online webinar for prospective students, telling them about my student experience at university.

I have done some college fairs with members of the Outreach and Recruitment Team for 16 to 18-year-old students on degree options they can consider. I have also done several Open Days on campus where I shared insight into my course and my student experience with applicants.

Being an ambassador, I have also done campus tours and subject talk tours taking groups of students across campus to show them what we have to offer here.

A large part of my role as a Student Ambassador involves communicating with potential applicants and students in schools and colleges. I explain why they should consider their options if they're interested in studying Law. I also give them information on extra-curricular activities, part-time jobs, joining the Students' Union and what they can get from the Career and Employability Services at the University.

I love talking to students and getting across that university is so much more than obtaining a degree. It is about utilising the Career and Employability Services and the Students' Union to help them gain soft skills and experience that they can use on their CV for employers.

Benefits of being an ambassador
The main benefit of being a Student Ambassador is that you get paid for your work and you also gain transferrable skills that you can take to any job. Earning whilst you study is great for your independence, and for those who are living away from home, it can be handy.