The Student Room Group

Architecture and structural engineering

I am in my first year of my architecture BSc degree. However I haven’t quite enjoyed it as I thought I would. I’m considering changing structural engineering (or something else) but I have some questions. How similar/ different are architecture and structural engineering? What is the learning style / pedagogy like for structural engineering? Lectures? 9-5? Workshops? Exams or assignments? Does it involve any creative work or is it mostly calculations? Can I enter straight into year 2 with my year 1 architecture qualification? If you have also changed from architecture can you please tell me what you changed to and what made you change? How easy/ hard is it to change courses and what’s the application process like after A levels. Is it still UCAS? How hard is structural engineering? Thank you very much for your patience if you’ve read all of that! XD
Reply 1
you could transfer courses using your uni's internal system - I did architecture at Cardiff and during my first year there were a couple of people that did that.