The Student Room Group

very pissed off!!

I am in my final year at uni, 44 years of age and very unhappy with my uni. The staff are completely unsympathetic to my situation, kids, elderly parents, travelling long way to uni. I recently asked for some guidance from a tutor with an assignment and was told that 'I should know how to do assignments by now etc etc'. I was very upset, angry even as I am very isolated from the rest of the 20 year old students who all have each other for support. I don't want to give up and have decided to just let it slide with this tutor as I don't want to antagonise him and get a bad mark! I now feel that I can't ask for any advise (in case they think i'm stupid) and my confidence has taken a knock. I just don't think that uni is a good place for much older students, has anyone else had similiar experiences?

Scroll to see replies

You won't lose marks for asking, but you will if you don't do the essay correctly. The tutor can't mark you down for asking for help. If you need help then go ask him again or see a different tutor.

EDIT:

P.S what is it you're having trouble with? Someone here may be able to help
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by lula69