The Student Room Group

How do I stop my lip bleeding?

Hi, I was shaving half an hour ago and I cut my lip as I'm not very good at shaving (no one ever explained it to me). It's been bleeding for half an hour and I don't know how to stop it.

I''ve put pressure on the cut for 5 mins and that's done nothing. Washing it with water has just resulted in covering the walls with blood.

Help :frown: last day of college today and I want to see my friends, but I can't go in if my lip's bleeding!
Do you suffer from Haemophilia?

(and I use an electric razor, never cut myself (it's damn near impossible to!))
Reply 2
Original post by XMaramena
Do you suffer from Haemophilia?

(and I use an electric razor, never cut myself (it's damn near impossible to!))

I don't know what that is but no I don't.

Why does an electric razor not cut you as much btw?
Also I don't think it could have really been avoided, as I would have put the razor on my lip either way :/
Original post by Treeroy
I don't know what that is but no I don't.

Why does an electric razor not cut you as much btw?
Also I don't think it could have really been avoided, as I would have put the razor on my lip either way :/

With an electric razor, the blades never touch your skin.

Those visible metal bits don't move - there are spinning blades underneath them, so the hairs push through the holes and grilles and are shaved, but your skin is smooth so it always says on the outside - even on rounded bits like the jawbone and edge of your chin.

They're quite pricey (probably looking between £60-90 for a good one, but well worth the price IMO. I've had mine for 4 years, and I've only had to charge it 20 odd times and never cut myself once.
Reply 4
Original post by XMaramena
With an electric razor, the blades never touch your skin

Huh, that seems like a good investment.