The Student Room Group

bullying

Am a bit scared to start work. I have a monthly subscription to mps (and i know what it is) but i constantly read articles about bullying from seniors. I thought this stops in primary school?
Reply 1
Starting work is daunting for many reasons and it is perfectly normal to feel a bit apprehensive, but I wouldn't lose any sleep over the possibility of being bullied. I know it does happen, but I have worked in hospitals for 6 years now and have never seen it. Maybe I've just been fortunate.

If you are ever unlucky enough to be in a position where you feel bullied by a senior, this is not tolerated and there will be many people you can go to (educational and clinical supervisors, other consultants, ward sisters etc.) for help.
Reply 2
Original post by jennyrar
Am a bit scared to start work. I have a monthly subscription to mps (and i know what it is) but i constantly read articles about bullying from seniors. I thought this stops in primary school?

Did you not go to secondary school?!

Anyway, although bullying does happen in the NHS, perhaps more in some specialties than others, it's not enormously widespread. You will be expected to do your job, and may get told off if you do the wrong thing/don't do something, but actual personal intimidation/insults is pretty rare. There are supervision structures within all hospitals that you can report to if you are concerned, even though this might seem scary, it's not something you have to put up with.
Reply 3
Original post by Helenia
Did you not go to secondary school?!