The Student Room Group

University worries

I'm a first year student and I'm finding staying on top of the workload incredibly difficult.

By nature, I'm not incredibly "bright" but have choesn to go to university regardless. During year 12 I had no plans for university nor a future, to be honest. After recieving my AS grades, I thought university might be a posibility so I started researching potential career paths. I've been working towards my career goals ever since. Now I'm at university, I feel as though everyone understands much quicker than me. For instance we have a module on financial mathematics and although I understand what we've learned so far, I've spent nearly all the time I have outside of lectures doing questions after questions attempting to wrap my head around understanding the formulas, methods etc..

I've actually had no time for anything else but studying. Even on the weekends I get up at 8am and study till about 9-10pm and it's just so stressful when you're spending all day trying to understand something that was gone through the lectures in 10 minutes. Or during our micro economics module, even though I got A* at A level, this is just foreign the extent I don't even understand what the text book is on about. I am worried I might not even make a 2:1, let alone a first and it's killing me inside.

Was I ahead of myself for even going to university.. :confused: At A level I did alright but through consistent non-stop studying. At university, I'm trying to do the same but it's just 100x harder, and this is just year 1. Again, I'm not naturally intellegent, in comparison to some individuals on my course.

I don't even know what I'm asking, should I drop out, just stick to it, study more? Any advice? :frown:

I do have extra currics, I'm Student Ambassador and I'm on the board of directors for a society.

TL;DR: University is bloody hard and the work is overwhelming whilst I'm in first years, what to do?

Scroll to see replies