The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

Postgrad at Oxbridge for international students - a glimmer of hope? Help!

Hey there! I apologise for the length of this post - but a big dilemma is torturing my mind. I am currently studying as an undergrad in Italy (English & German linguistics & literature) and as the day of my graduation approaches, I have to start thinking about my postgrad. I had never even dreamed of applying to Oxbridge until I realised that I might have the grades to get in.

I'd be interested in either 'English Studies: Criticism and Culture' at Cambridge or 'English Language' or 'Worlds Literatures in English' at Oxford.
So my question is: how difficult is it to get into Oxbridge as an international student? I will be graduating in March, I finished all my exams and only have to write my final dissertation, which is due in February. It is very likely that I will graduate with a first (perhaps cum laude, depending on my dissertation). The thing is, how can I prove this before the actual final mark is published in March?

I don't know if this is of any relevance, but I spent my year abroad in Ireland as an Erasmus student, also qualified as an English teacher (TEFL) while I was there and meet the English language requirements (I am also a native speaker of German).

From what I've read, people applying generally know already in what area they'd like to do research in: having studied both English literature and linguistics, my interests are quite broad. This worries me because of the research proposal both unis require. I know that being passionate is one of the most important bits, and believe me when I say that there is nothing I am more passionate about than the English language and literature. (However, I don't know whether having studied it at uni would be enough to prove it?)