The Student Room Group

Certain aspects at uni depress me

I'm in my 2nd year studying business at a london uni. I don't know if it's just london business students or students in general but my course is full of international students from wealthy families. They are not down to earth or warm, or humble. Alot of them don't even work hard because their families fix them up with internships. I find alot of fake people here. They will say hello and smile to your face one minute and then next week they might ignore you and pretend you don't exist, as if you have done something to them. It's very weird. They could walk by you and not even acknowledge you for no valid reason. I can only think it is based on a sense of social status of some form. If you have status then they may gravitate to you. I don't know? Do others find this at their uni?

It's also affected my self esteem when it comes to girls. I'm not a bad looking guy but I don't stand a chance with these girls, they are so uppity. You either have to be utterly drop dead gorgeous or from their country, or a loudmouth cocky guy, or from a similar rich background to gain their respect. Basically if you don't appear to be of a materialistic nature, they sort of discard you. They want you to be vain and socially popular, posting poses on snapchat and facebook etc

Actually being a friendly, decent person who isn't boring and is just completely normal is not respected. You have got to have status here. Either through your looks or other means. When I look at some attractive girls on facebook from my course they are all posing in fancy restaurants, fancy bars, fancy designer gear, model type shots, on boats or skiing in the alps etc. I can't live up to that so I feel like girls won't bat an eyelid at me. Is this a business student in London type of thing? There's no working class students here.