The Student Room Group
Leeds Conservatoire
Leeds

A Week Studying at Leeds College of Music

Following Jemma's inventive work as the previous TSR rep for LCoM, I thought I'd keep up the fun by sharing samples of my diary. Hopefully this will give you some insight about what goes on in college week by week!

I am a third year composition student studying on the Classical course.

MONDAY

It’s a bizarre thing to make the transition from a busy school timetable to a university timetable, because you may find you’ve got a random day off dotted somewhere in the middle of your weekly calendar. This year it’s Monday. From first glance it’s amazing ... THREE DAY WEEKEND! but in reality your day off can end up being the most hectic day of all. Either you’re nursing a hangover because you know you’ve got time to spare, or you’re filling it with all of your domestic chores, like that weekly trip to Tesco, your ironing, cleaning… just generally catching up with life.

It’s perfect though, you need that time to ground yourself. After a heavily social weekend, or a busy week of lectures, the washing piles up, the flat needs a good cleaning, and your room starts to turn into a walk-in wardrobe. Although it’s hardly a thrilling way to spend your day off, it helps you out so much!

TUESDAY

9AM start. I shouldn’t complain, it’s nice to get up early and get work out of the way. A new group event has been added to the timetable this year at LCoM; a fortnightly two-hour group lecture in which guests come in to give us a talk or demonstration addressing topics like stage fright, industry survival tips, performance preparation, etc. This week we had the wonderful Laura Moody come in to talk to us about her career as a singing cellist, and play some of her songs. She explained how she approached carving a career in music after graduating from university, how she approached crowdfunding for her 2014 album Acrobats, and explained how her musical inspirations helped shape her as an artist.