The Student Room Group

Graduate job paying £30,000 or masters degree

I'm torn between either accepting a graduate job or doing a masters degree. I graduated last week and my plan was to always do a master degree straight after. I applied to this job opening 2 months ago that I found interesting and the pay was great. After a long process they gave me a job offer surprisingly.
Do you think I should accept this or do a masters instead?. Most people receive 2.1's and I feel like a masters would make me more employable in the future.
Original post by Emre1996
I'm torn between either accepting a graduate job or doing a masters degree. I graduated last week and my plan was to always do a master degree straight after. I applied to this job opening 2 months ago that I found interesting and the pay was great. After a long process they gave me a job offer surprisingly.
Do you think I should accept this or do a masters instead?. Most people receive 2.1's and I feel like a masters would make me more employable in the future.

Depends a lot on how much added value the masters will give you. For example, if it's at a considerably better university that the one you did your undergrad at, how relevant the masters is to any job that you would apply for.

Also depends on whether the job for which you have an offer is a good scheme with good progression. If it is then I would take the job. I was in a similar predicament and after speaking with quite a few experienced graduates, I decided to take the graduate offer. Nearly all of the people I spoke to mentioned how your degree performance doesn't necessarily make you employable. Employers use it as a checkbox and are more interested in your expertise and experience.