The Student Room Group

Unemployed / underemployed since 2015 with a first class degree in physics

I graduated in 2015 with a first class BSc in physics. I also published my project research in physica status solidi, a journal for materials science (co-author with my supervisors). I graduated at 27 and I'm 30 now. I have AABB at A level, including 90% in A level Mathematics. I have 5A*s, 2A and 3C at GCSE, dating back to 2004. Currently I'm enrolled on an MSc as a way to pass the time, but it isn't working out well (I have made another thread about this).

I applied for quite a few graduate schemes but was unsuccessful for them all. I got through to the last stage of one in the NHS scientist training programme, but I think my shyness and lack of confidence might have cost me at the panel interviews. I got through to the analyst interview at British Airways but again, there were more polished candidates. I've been rejected from everything except minimum wage roles and teaching roles. In fact, one agency wanted me to teach a GCSE class, even thought I have no teaching experience. I didn't have the confidence to do it. For the past few years I have done exam marking work alongside some other minimum wage work and been studying my MSc, which I may have to interrupt due to the volume of work. I applied for graduate medicine in October but received my last rejection letter in February. I think my UKCAT score was the reason as one section let me down quite considerably, wheras my other sections were above average. I've considered nursing as well.

I need inventive solutions to my problem as at 30 I feel I can't afford to lose more time. I think if I could get some really good experience, full time or as an internship, then that may be enough to propel me forwards. I've looked into other postgraduate courses but they are so expensive and often cannot guarantee me a job at the end.

Is anyone else in this kind of situation?
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by thenoob.2018