The Student Room Group

Aspirations Blog

Hiya!

I'm starting this little blog as a way to keep track of what's going on in regard to my grades currently, my uni application and just a few general life updates. Hopefully, this'll serve to motivate me to study a little more, and procrastinate a little less ;D

Right now, I'm a year 13 student, studying the IB Diploma with Chemistry, Biology and Geography at HL and Spanish B, English Lit A and Mathematical Studies at SL. At this point I've finished all my core subjects (EE, CAS and TOK) and I'm just finishing off the last of my coursework and IA's before my May 2020 exams.

I'm currently in the process of applying for medicine with the followings stats:
GCSEs: 7A* and 4As
AS and A2-Levels: A and A* respectively
UCAT: 2890 and SJT Band 2
Predicted IB: 40 pts with 667 at HL, 577 at SL (including 2 Core Points)

Although I am doing the IB in sixth form, I have also done my AS and A2 levels in Persian as I am bilingual and so I've got a bit of an odd mix here but it is what it is aha! ‾\_(ツ)_/‾

I applied to Edinburgh, Barts, Bristol and KCL for medicine, and so far have been rejected from Edinburgh pre-interview and received an offer (766 at HL with 35pts overall) from Kings 🎉. On hold from Bristol, having done my interview in December, and I'm waiting on Barts post-interview too :smile: My fifth option is Biomedical sciences at Sheffield, which I've received an offer for, but with a bit of luck I'll have two medicine offers to firm and insure.

It's a tough process applying to medicine, especially when your friends around you have all got their offers and are sorting out accommodation etc already, but things will work out eventually and until they do, I'll be posting on here.

I don't expect anyone to be reading this, but if you do, I hope my little updates on the application process, on the IB, on sixth form generally, will be helpful :smile:
(edited 4 years ago)