The Student Room Group

what is pharmacy like?

Hi I have some questions about pharmacy course at uni?

What would the chemistry difficulty be like for someone who usually gets C's and B's at a-level?
how much chem is there?
do you have to be confident in organic chem?
what is the workload like?

what is the actual job like- is it as boring as everyone says it to be ?
what do you do in the placements?
do you do a lot of lab work?
is the maths fairly simple?

Thanks Everyone :smile:
Original post by broman12

What would the chemistry difficulty be like for someone who usually gets C's and B's at a-level?
how much chem is there?

Hello Pharmacy student here,

I am currently in second year and there is a chemistry module in both first and second year, however I find this is quite repetitive of A-level for now with the minority of content being new.
As long as you are willing to study hard to keep on top of the chemistry achieving a grade B or C wouldn't be too much of a problem.
There is organic chemistry content too so as long as you go over it then you will be okay.

At Portsmouth Uni we have visits to community pharmacy in first and second year and a hospital placement for a week in third year.
However, you can apply for your own summer placements with other providers.

There is not too many labs from my experience so far, but they are fun!
The maths is okay for me but it depends on the person, but if there is anything you find particularly hard you can always use YouTube videos to help

Hope this helps! - Eloise - Official University Rep :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by University of Portsmouth Student Rep

I am currently in second year and there is a chemistry module in both first and second year, however I find this is quite repetitive of A-level for now with the minority of content being new.
As long as you are willing to study hard to keep on top of the chemistry achieving a grade B or C wouldn't be too much of a problem.