The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

What subjects should I choose for A level

Hi, I'm a year 10 student and I'm preparing to apply for a private school so I need to start thinking about what subjects to choose earlier thabk others. I'm considering LSE UCL Oxbridge etc for a Law course. I was wondering what subject do these Universities like the most. My maths isn't the best for an A in A level. I'm still on a 6- and hope to get to a 7 at least so I'm not considering any maths related including science which include maths too. I'm considering English Language, Business from EDEXCEL (but LSE has said they don't take Business but some people say that's only for a BTech ) and Geography. I have decided on Geography for sure but is Business recommended since Law in Oxbridge is really competitive so I need a really respected subject. In addition I'm not sure whether EDEXCEL Business is the same as OCR because if it is I doubt LSE would accept it so I am quite worried. I would go for French but I would rather do that in my own time (I am Chinese so I am teaching myself Chinese because I wasn't born in a Chinese speaking environment , I might take HSK (L6 is highest Mandarin Lang qualification) in my own time if that helps for my university application ). I know Eng Lit is good but I am really not a fan of reading these 19th cent text or poems. I can't take history because I didn't learn it in secondary school so if I apply for it in A level lowers my chance of getting in the school I chose. I'm also wondering whether low maths grade would affect my oxbridge application. I'm really not confident with my maths, the most I could probably get is probably a 7 lowest hopefully a 6. Would getting G7s lower chance of getting in Oxbridge?
What? I’m in year 10 and gave 0 thought to any of that. I need to fix up.
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London
Original post by TF08060728