The Student Room Group

Should i take further math?

Should I take further maths as my 4th subject for A-levels? The three other subjects I'm considering are Chemistry, Physics, and Math. Here's why I'm indecisive.

Pros (take further math)
1. Subject combination would be perfect
2. I'm aiming for Imperial and UCL (Oxbridge but I don't want to hold too much hope)
3. Opens more degree choices
4. I took Additional Maths for GCSE
5. I'm Asian (most Asians take 4 subjects)(at least the ones around me)

Cons
1. I'm studying a 1.5 A-level course (afraid there's no time)
2. My other subjects are challenging enough
3. I want all A's but I'm not confident in getting an A for further maths
4. I'm aiming for Chemistry more than Engineering as a degree course (but I do like to study a Physics course)(not engineering)
5. I'm not the best in Maths (scored well but not the best)
6. I like maths but I do not enjoy hardcore maths
Reply 1
Original post by lee lee.
Should I take further maths as my 4th subject for A-levels? The three other subjects I'm considering are Chemistry, Physics, and Math. Here's why I'm indecisive.

Pros (take further math)
1. Subject combination would be perfect
2. I'm aiming for Imperial and UCL (Oxbridge but I don't want to hold too much hope)
3. Opens more degree choices
4. I took Additional Maths for GCSE
5. I'm Asian (most Asians take 4 subjects)(at least the ones around me)

Cons
1. I'm studying a 1.5 A-level course (afraid there's no time)
2. My other subjects are challenging enough
3. I want all A's but I'm not confident in getting an A for further maths
4. I'm aiming for Chemistry more than Engineering as a degree course (but I do like to study a Physics course)(not engineering)
5. I'm not the best in Maths (scored well but not the best)
6. I like maths but I do not enjoy hardcore maths