The Student Room Group

Do universities care about school leadership positions a lot?

I'm a student currently studying in IB Prep Year. My grades are decent and consists of 6s and 7s, but the problem is I started working hard too late. I have extensive MUN experience, and got multiple awards as well as leadership positions as a chair or secretariat. However, in my junior forms I was not an impressive student, so I do not have any leadership positions in school, no matter in the prefect board, student union, clubs and societies etc, not even in the MUN Club. I'm aiming to study law in the UK (possibly more prestigious unis like Cambridge and UCL)- Do universities care about school leadership positions a lot? If they do, what else can I do to make up for my disadvantage?
(edited 2 years ago)
Original post by nicxlechxn
I'm a student currently studying in IB Prep Year. My grades are decent and consists of 6s and 7s, but the problem is I started working hard too late. I have extensive MUN experience, and got multiple awards as well as leadership positions as a chair or secretariat. However, in my junior forms I was not an impressive student, so I do not have any leadership positions in school, no matter in the prefect board, student union, clubs and societies etc, not even in the MUN Club. I'm aiming to study law in the UK (possibly more prestigious unis like Cambridge and UCL)- Do universities care about school leadership positions a lot? If they do, what else can I do to make up for my disadvantage?

Hi Nicole!