The Student Room Group

Executive MBA - Oxbridge

I am wanting to apply to an EMBA in the next 2-3 years and particularly have a preference for Cambridge. I have 16 years experience (3 years investment banking & 13 years Investment Management) in finance operations roles with global experience and clear progression demonstrated. My problem is I went to a low standing university and achieved a 2.1. I have some professional qualifications as well but nothing overly prestigious. I was very lucky to get on the graduate scheme at goldman sachs post graduation, worked at a FTSE 100 company, an overseas central bank and now an investment management company. I am wondering what can I do at this stage to improve my chances of getting on the Cambridge EMBA ?
Original post by Herecomes40
I am wanting to apply to an EMBA in the next 2-3 years and particularly have a preference for Cambridge. I have 16 years experience (3 years investment banking & 13 years Investment Management) in finance operations roles with global experience and clear progression demonstrated. My problem is I went to a low standing university and achieved a 2.1. I have some professional qualifications as well but nothing overly prestigious. I was very lucky to get on the graduate scheme at goldman sachs post graduation, worked at a FTSE 100 company, an overseas central bank and now an investment management company. I am wondering what can I do at this stage to improve my chances of getting on the Cambridge EMBA ?

Tbh I think your professional resume will be very strong, and given the gap between your studies & the new mba I doubt they’ll be placing huge emphasis on the undergraduate result. Looks like they also take into account GMAT so you can perform strongly on that.