The Student Room Group

I'm a failing year 10 student

Hi there.
I'm in year 10 and I'm really really worried about my GCSE exams.
I barely know stuff that I should have learnt in year 8 and I get really low test results. However, my parents have high expectations for me and expect 7s and above- minimum grade for them is 6
What can I do to improve my grades?
Are there any free apps that I can use?
Do you have any tips?

Thanks in advance

Scroll to see replies

Savemyexams is very helpful. Try setting up a study schedule, where you study certain subjects on certain days. Always always revise info taken from before. That info you took at the beginning of the year needs to be fresh in your mind. PAST PAPERS PAST PAPERS PAST PAPERs.

Other than that, don't stress out :smile:
Original post by person36
Hi there.
I barely know stuff that I should have learnt in year 8 and I get really low test results. However, my parents have high expectations for me and expect 7s and above- minimum grade for them is 6
Do you have any tips?

Thanks in advance

Hi there

Worrying shows you care which is a good sign. It's important to know how to manage your concerns though by taking regular breaks from revision by doing something you enjoy.

For Science I highly recommend Free science lessons on Youtube.
Quizlet may be useful for languages too.

Past papers are generally a good way to revise all subjects as you can work on exam technique whilst identifying weaknesses and strengths to direct your revision accordingly.

Hope this helps :smile:
Best wishes.
Hi there.
Do you have any tips?

Thanks in advance

Maths genie for maths
science -free science lessons videos he has covered the whole 9-1 although i would strongly suggest you do exam questions
English -you just need to get the structure down there are videos that go over that on youtube

Good luck the fact that you are concerned now is a good sign
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 4
Original post by TriplexA
Hi there