The Student Room Group

What should I drop? Chem or AS FM?

Hi,

I'm a Year 13 student currently studying Maths, Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry and AS Further Maths. I've achieved an A* in the EPQ. I want to study Computer Science at university and my most aspirational choice is Cambridge. I attend a state school.

I started doing AS Further Maths this year (Year 13) because my school wasn't offering Further Maths last year. I've been doing 5 subjects for the last month as a trial and I feel like the work is too much for me and that I should drop a subject. The options for me are between Chemistry and Further Maths.

Chemistry is obviously least relevant to my degree choice (Computer Science), but I am predicted an A* in it and find it very enjoyable. I can't see myself doing a degree related to Chemistry or working in a field related to Chemistry, though. I just chose it because I wanted to do 4 subjects at the start of Year 12 to keep my options open and I never ended up dropping it because I was pretty good and it was not very demanding on time.

Since I've picked up Further Maths now, the work has become too much for me. I have constantly been handing in my work late for Further Maths because the homework is way too much for me to handle. This isn't an issue for others in my class since they are doing 4 subjects and have 6 free periods per week to do this work in. I don't want to be behind in Further Maths work like this because I feel like I end up rushing it and don't practice the content thoroughly enough. Hence, the natural choice would be to now drop Chemistry. I've come to make this post because I guess I want affirmation.