The Student Room Group

Stationary and bag essentials for Uni (Commuting from home)

Hi, I am staying at home for uni and I will be commuting from home, What stationary and bag essentials do i need to bring to university?
(undergraduate student 2023)

Edit: I am studying animation
(edited 1 year ago)
Your laptop and/or ipad, heaphones/earphones, waterbottle, food, journal/planner, a couple pens/pencils, and a calculator if you're in STEM. Oh and maybe a book if you've got a train ride.
Original post by zotrain123
Hi, I am staying at home for uni and I will be commuting from home, What stationary and bag essentials do i need to bring to university?

Hey there!
You usually need to bring less than you think to university, I usually just carry a tote bag round with me and it carries everything. On a usual full university day, I carry round: my laptop and case, a pouch with my laptop and phone chargers in incase of emergency, my purse with all ID's and student ID's in, a pencil case with only pens, pencils and coloured pens in, a notebook with my notes from the weekly reading in, a diary for important things like deadline dates and reading due dates and also essentials such as my keys, lip balm, airpods and a water bottle.

For animation specifically I'd suggest a blank notepad (not lined), pencils of different strengths (drawing pencils), maybe a light box but specifically your laptop will be the most important thing. Usually universities will supply an Adobe CreativeCloud subscription but if yours doesn't then this might be useful for you to look into.

Hope this helped!
Lucy - Digital Student Ambassador SHU

Hi @zotrain123 :h:

Some great suggestions on here, a compact umbrella might be a good idea too! I also like carrying around my own little reusable cutlery set as it sometimes comes in handy if I'm having lunch on the go/dinner out! A nice hand sanitiser too.

Danielle :smile:
Film and Television Studies
(edited 1 year ago)
Reply 4