The Student Room Group

I am stuck

I am currently in my second year at college doing a level 3 extended diploma in computing, working towards atleast a DMM by the end of the year. However, although I work hard on my assignments I have really really lost interest in the course and the subject area of computer science in general. I even applied to 5 universities and got offers to study computer science there in September but after thinking long and hard I dont think I could work in programming. I was wondering if it were possible to contact the universites and say that I would rather switch to a philosophy course instead to start in September. My other option would be to take three different A levels in September 2023 but by then I would be 18 and much rather study philosophy as a degree. Can anyone give me some guidance on my options please?
Original post by 748slade
I am currently in my second year at college doing a level 3 extended diploma in computing, working towards atleast a DMM by the end of the year. However, although I work hard on my assignments I have really really lost interest in the course and the subject area of computer science in general. I even applied to 5 universities and got offers to study computer science there in September but after thinking long and hard I dont think I could work in programming. I was wondering if it were possible to contact the universites and say that I would rather switch to a philosophy course instead to start in September. My other option would be to take three different A levels in September 2023 but by then I would be 18 and much rather study philosophy as a degree. Can anyone give me some guidance on my options please?

For any universities from which you've received offers, you can contact them and ask to switch course. The sooner you do this the better.

Note that it's quite a switch you're proposing, so they may ask you to send an updated Personal Statement.
Original post by DataVenia