The Student Room Group

Should I quit my tech job for a second undergraduate degree?

In a nutshell: I'm 25 now, in a well-paid software engineering job and I have the opportunity to move to London for a degree in circus arts. I would graduate at the age of 28.

The details: I studied German, Spanish and linguistics in my first BA degree, but then did a software engineering grad scheme, which I've been on for about two years now. I've been doing aerial arts (silks, rope, trapeze, hoop, etc.) for a couple years and very last minute for this year's intake, I applied for another BA degree in circus arts in London and got in. I kind of just wanted to see if I could get in and see what happens. So now I have to decide whether to take up my spot, which would involve quitting my tech job, moving to London, paying my own tuition fees, as I can't get a second loan, and having the uncertainty of a career in performing arts, especially graduating at the age of 27-28.

Technically, I believe I have enough savings to make it through the 2-3 year degree including tuition fees and living costs, but obviously, there is no guarantee afterwards. I have a language degree and experience tutoring, as well as teaching aerial to both adults and kids. I don't think I have enough skills to freelance in tech, but I'm not completely opposed to it. On one hand, I feel it might be too late, but on the other hand, I might regret not going for it later - I can sit in an office and stare at a computer all day later in life.

So my question is, should I go for it, and if anyone has a similar experience, I'd appreciate any tips around getting a second degree, leaving a tech job or a performing arts education.

Thanks a lot,
Bara :smile:
Reply 1
You will come out of the second degree aged 28. That is normally the peak of an athlete - downhill from aged 30 as your body gives up. Think seriously about giving up a safe job for the chance to get a job in circus arts.
Reply 2