The Student Room Group

Confusion regarding what A-levels to pick

I have recently decided that I would like to pursue a career in law. This has caused me to re-evaluate what subjects I should take.

Just to provide a background, I am new to the GCE board of education and have not yet properly been acquainted with what the coursework is like.

Initially, I had decided to take English Lit., Maths, Sociology and Economics. However, I now think that it would be more useful to drop Sociology and choose History instead. I am also not sure of whether I should take Economics as well since what I’ve read about taking 4 A-levels tells me that it’s a fairly tough thing to do.

Any advice is appreciated.
Reply 1
Maths, English Literature and History should be fine, but you'll need A*A*A for being shortlisted for interview at Oxford or Cambridge. :wink:

If you take 4 A-Levels, then you will need to be sure you can handle the workload? :s-smilie:

But it would be easier to take Maths, Economics and History as you would do less reading!!! :wink:

Are you applying to Cambridge? Oxford? Durham? LSE? UCL? KCL? SOAS? QMUL?

Are you also an International student with IGCSEs? or IB? :s-smilie:
(edited 11 months ago)
I have not done my secondary schooling in an international board (IGCSE/IB).

I do plan on applying to Oxford, LSE, UCL and KCL.

Reading isn’t really an issue for me as I do enjoy studying English Literature and as I would have to do intensive reading if I were to study law.

I guess the question I really have is whether it would be useful to take Economics as a fourth subject, or would it just be a burden?
Reply 3
Original post by serene-discourag
I have not done my secondary schooling in an international board (IGCSE/IB).

I do plan on applying to Oxford, LSE, UCL and KCL.

Reading isn’t really an issue for me as I do enjoy studying English Literature and as I would have to do intensive reading if I were to study law.