The Student Room Group

Feeling hopeless after graduation. Change of plan?

Hello,

I will soon graduate with my degree (Physiotherapy) next month. However, I seem to have caught that post-uni hopeless feeling bug that makes you feel like you just spent all that time doing a degree and still don't know what you want to do with your life.

My background is that I was in a situation in my early 20s where I felt I needed to suss out what I was going to do with my life before I reached the big three zero. As a ‘mature’ student I found an access course which got me into the physio degree through the back door, so I went for it.

But here's my problem. It's that I didn't enjoy any part of my degree and no longer want to be a Physiotherapist or be in healthcare. Due to it being a healthcare degree, I got to experience and basically do the job with the placements.
Doing these made it certain in my head that it was not the profession I want to pursue and in the end, I kind of regretted doing the degree in general. Having plenty of time to reflect now uni has finished, I have been considering if I should wait for a physio job to pop up in my city or pursue something else. So far the only ones available to me are a minimum 1-hour drive to get there (over a 2-hour commute each day) which would mean I would need a second car as my partner uses our car for her work currently. A financial commitment I'm very cautious about making right now.