The Student Room Group

Going to college to achieve Bio/Chem a-levels for Optometry at University

hi guys!

My academic situation is really confusing.
I am a year 12 student really passionate about studying Optometry at University, however, I don't have the correct qualifications to study an Optometry programme in 2024(which is when I join University).

I am currently studying BTEC National Applied Science, Psychology and Sociology.

Most Universities require two A-level Science subjects (biology/chemistry/physics/maths), even for their Foundation Years.

For this reason, I have decided I am willing to join a College to achieve these qualifications, however, I have many questions:
1. is it mandatory to do three levels in a college, even though i will have my previous A-levels(BTEC/Psych/Socio)
2. Approximately how long do your A-level Qualifications last for Uni?
3. Is there a better pathway to optometry?

I do have more questions and I will post them when I remember them, and I really appreciate anyone who may have answers/experience with anything I have discussed!
Reply 1
Hi, to start with A level qualifications don't have an 'expiry date' in a sense. They will always be valid for university degrees so don't worry about that. There are some universities that have a foundation year that you can enter without science subjects such as Huddersfield universities 'Science Extended Degree leading to a BSc(Hons) Degree'. There is also another pathway you can take which are access courses which tend to only last one year and would allow you to enter optometry degrees. It'll be worth checking these out along with costs associated. They are for mature students (19+). These are the options open to you after year 13.

As for now you can always restart year 12 with the subjects you want to take (2 science combination). You could call around to local colleges or sixth forms to see if they are willing to accommodate you for the upcoming year.

Good luck :smile: