The Student Room Group

Is there any way I could get onto medicine with BTEC Applied Science Dual Award?

Hi, i am currently an apprentice working towards a BTEC National Diploma in Applied Science, I am hoping to get D*D*.

I have recently been looking into access courses for medicine but I am a bit confused as to how i could get onto a medicine course.

I know UCLan offer a foundation year in medical sciences with the potential to progress onto Medicine but i have heard this is extremely competitive for UK students.

What do you think my best option is?
Reply 1
Do the correct A-levels in a gap year
Do a foundation degree and compete for the tiny number of transfer-into-medicine places
Do an access-to-medicine qualification
Do a degree, get a 1st/2.1, and attempt Graduate Entry Medicine.

You really need to google the basics before coming on here IMO, there is a lot of information out there already which will help you much quicker than these forums. Good luck!
(edited 9 months ago)
Original post by Cam_fearn
Hi, i am currently an apprentice working towards a BTEC National Diploma in Applied Science, I am hoping to get D*D*.

I have recently been looking into access courses for medicine but I am a bit confused as to how i could get onto a medicine course.

I know UCLan offer a foundation year in medical sciences with the potential to progress onto Medicine but i have heard this is extremely competitive for UK students.

What do you think my best option is?

Hi there Cam_fearn, :smile:

It's great to hear that you are looking to study medicine.

Our medicine courses are highly competitive and we only offer a limited number of places to UK students.