The Student Room Group

year 10 mocks

usually in school im an above aveage student and i get like 6s and 7s in most subjects and my parents are happy. now i started to get my mock results back and i got a 9 in computing, a 6+ in maths, a 4 in french and a 5+ in physics so far and my dad is very angry that i didn't revise enough when i thought i did and then he got even more angry when he saw me using my phone at 6am this morning and now i can't go out in the summer holiday. what do i do bc he doesn't wanna listen
Reply 1
Original post by theslimjim
usually in school im an above aveage student and i get like 6s and 7s in most subjects and my parents are happy. now i started to get my mock results back and i got a 9 in computing, a 6+ in maths, a 4 in french and a 5+ in physics so far and my dad is very angry that i didn't revise enough when i thought i did and then he got even more angry when he saw me using my phone at 6am this morning and now i can't go out in the summer holiday. what do i do bc he doesn't wanna listen

Try to make him understand that you got great results given you’re in year 10. You have a whole year to improve them and I’m sure you will do just that.

Try telling him that you have revised a lot and how you feel (are you stressed for exams? Are you burned out?) and how it’s important you take a break in the summer and then get at it in September again!

Alternatively, if school isn’t yet over for you, you could go to your teachers and ask them for how you can improve in your subjects and perhaps action some of that advice in the coming weeks if you still have school to prove to him you’re serious about it and have tried your hardest. Hope all goes well!
Reply 2
Original post by subbhy
Try to make him understand that you got great results given you’re in year 10. You have a whole year to improve them and I’m sure you will do just that.