The Student Room Group

GCSE: 3 to a 6? - 10 months?

Is it possible to go from a 3 to a 6 in GCSE? Currently on my YR10 summer holiday and really want to do well.
Original post by Eferry
Is it possible to go from a 3 to a 6 in GCSE? Currently on my YR10 summer holiday and really want to do well.

Yes, it is possible to go up by three grades over a 10-month period. Which subject(s) are we talking about? (Presumably you're not at grade 3 for everything right now.)
Reply 2
I got all distinctions in business (finishing course next year), I got a 7 in my food mock, a 5 in English, and a 7 in iMedia. Any advice? I don't know what to do.
Reply 3
(Then got 3s in Science and Math)
Original post by Eferry

Hello,

I’m a BA Dance Student from the University of Lincoln and hopefully I can offer some advice on how you can best improve your grades. I also struggled in maths and I found that no matter what tactics I tried I still could not even pass an exam. For me, I understood the methods you needed to carry out if they were repeated back to me but left to my own devices my head could not wrap around how to answer them for myself. My best advice is use your own advantages… I’m a creative student and therefore numbers and equations are not my strength but I found methods that worked best to my skills. For example, I preferred to watch videos on YouTube that replicated a lesson, whereby I could listen to the instructions and then attempt questions for myself. I also found that speaking things out loud really help and making up songs or poems to remember equations. I will add some links below*
My grades on average were between a 3-4 before year 11 on a good day and that was with a lot of lucky guessing but I can assure you that if you find some methods that work to your strengths, you will easily pick up marks a lot better and be able to apply the questions better to your own revision

Links to helpful resources:

https://youtu.be/VOXYMRcWbF8

https://youtu.be/pg5MMBU4Mv4