The Student Room Group
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge

Does poor grades for a prior masters impact my chances for MPhil at cambridge?

Hello,
I am keen on pursuing an MPhil in Development Studies. I completed my undergraduate degree at LSE this year, where I achieved an overall pass. However, I faced challenges with my mental health during that time, which affected my academic performance. I submitted exceptional circumstances to explain my situation, but LSE's policy on exceptional circumstances is quite stringent. I'm concerned that this might have a negative impact on my MPhil application.
On a positive note, during my undergraduate studies at a different university, I performed exceptionally well and received a Distinction. Despite the lower tier of the university, I believe this demonstrates my academic abilities and dedication to the subject. However, I am uncertain if this will be taken into consideration when evaluating my MPhil application.
I am hopeful that my strong performance in my undergraduate studies and my genuine interest in Development Studies will outweigh any potential concerns regarding my overall pass at LSE. I am determined to pursue this opportunity and look forward to showcasing my passion and commitment to the program.
Original post by Anonymous
Hello,
I am keen on pursuing an MPhil in Development Studies. I completed my undergraduate degree at LSE this year, where I achieved an overall pass. However, I faced challenges with my mental health during that time, which affected my academic performance. I submitted exceptional circumstances to explain my situation, but LSE's policy on exceptional circumstances is quite stringent. I'm concerned that this might have a negative impact on my MPhil application.