The Student Room Group

Does doing a part time masters put you at a disadvantage?

I want to do a masters part time because I want the workload to be less intense but I'm worried that doing a part time masters as opposed to a full time one will put me at a disadvantage for PhD positions/employment.
Original post by RandomMelodrama
I want to do a masters part time because I want the workload to be less intense but I'm worried that doing a part time masters as opposed to a full time one will put me at a disadvantage for PhD positions/employment.

Your reason will put you at a disadvantage. If you can't manage a Masters full time, you certainly won't be able to manage the intensity of the professional workplace.
I did a Masters part-time as I was working and not found it a disadvantage in terms of applying for jobs.

If anything it has been an advantage as demonstrated my ability to manage competing deadlines and prioritise my workload.

However I don't think that doing it for it be a lighter workload is going to give you that.
Original post by RandomMelodrama

Hi @RandomMelodrama

It’s great that you are considering doing a masters (and maybe even a PhD after that!). Of course I am biased (as a PhD student myself), but continuing in education is a great way to further your career, learn new skills to bring to the table, and explore new areas.
Like @CrimsonFlower said, this can actually be a way to demonstrate your ability to multitask, prioritise, plan deliverables and deadlines, and other highly valuable skills in the workforce and in research.