The Student Room Group

Starting uni at 20

Hello! I’m currently 19 and will be starting uni in 2024 bc of a CAS delay issue (I’m an international student) my place is confirmed and my deposit is paid. I was already feeling anxious that I’ll be too old at 19 and now that I’ll be starting at 20 I feel like a complete loser. Though this is an opportunity for me to do apprenticeships and work to save up I can’t help but feel like a an ancient relic when I do finally go. In my home country it is quite normal for people to be university students in their mid 20s but I feel like it’s different in England/London where I’ll be studying. Fundamentally I know it’s not that big of a deal because I’m chasing my dream no matter what but the feeling of incompetence still creeps around my head.
Reply 1
Original post by Jossbna
Hello! I’m currently 19 and will be starting uni in 2024 bc of a CAS delay issue (I’m an international student) my place is confirmed and my deposit is paid. I was already feeling anxious that I’ll be too old at 19 and now that I’ll be starting at 20 I feel like a complete loser. Though this is an opportunity for me to do apprenticeships and work to save up I can’t help but feel like a an ancient relic when I do finally go. In my home country it is quite normal for people to be university students in their mid 20s but I feel like it’s different in England/London where I’ll be studying. Fundamentally I know it’s not that big of a deal because I’m chasing my dream no matter what but the feeling of incompetence still creeps around my head.

Hi!