The Student Room Group

Graduate medicine 2024 entry

Hi,

I am a graduate of BSc global health (1st class with hons) and I am applying for medicine this year, for 2024 entry. For a bit of contextual info, my A Levels are: Biology, geography and history (A*A*A*) so no I do not have chemistry which is a bit unconventional and limits the universities I can apply to a bit.

However I managed to get a good score in my UCAT (3000+), but I did not sit the GAMSAT or BMAT. I am currently in between a few universities, and was wondering if anyone has any advice? I want to maximise my chances of getting in, and ideally would prefer unis that prioritise the UCAT. I have over 70 hours of work experience, but am not sure if its enough compared to other applicants...

The universities im considering for graduate entry are:
Southampton (Definite)
Warwick (Definite)
Surrey (most likely)
And maybe Newcastle? but am not sure if it is more/less competitive than the others

And for undergraduate
Either UEA (most likely) or Kent Medway

Am also stuck between Worcester and Chester for grad entry, as I know Worcester has another entry test (Casper test) so not sure if its worth applying there, plus they are both a bit far from where I live

If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it, as it has always been my dream to go to medical school but I always convinced myself I was not good enough to do it, but now I am actually going to bite the bullet and apply, but am afraid my application won't be prioritised or viewed as good as others, given my non-science degree and having less work experience!
Hey there, thanks for posting a question in the Medicine forum. :biggrin: