The Student Room Group
Power Station Simulator, University of Strathclyde
University of Strathclyde

Strathclyde enquiry

Hello, I am a student who is currently 2nd year at another university. However, I plan to switch universities and go to Strathclyde university for computer science 2nd year (2024-2025). However, I do have my highers I have taken up advanced higher maths and computing privately, would I still be considered or not. Also, since I’m a private candidate I have no grade predictions as I’m self teaching would i still be able to get an offer if I am considered.
(edited 5 months ago)
I have moved this to the University of Strathclyde forum for you :smile:
Power Station Simulator, University of Strathclyde
University of Strathclyde
I would recommend contacting SAAS or the relevant Student Finance branch for RUK to look into the finance side of things to ensure you will be funded for the full course. Going from second year in one uni to second year in another may present challenges in terms of funding entitlements. Also on a logistical level, it's really not advisable normally to plan to do external qualifications while at uni. As you have absolutely no mechanism to resolve any exam clashes and so if you have one then you are missing one exam or another which will invariably lead to a fail in that module/qualification.