The Student Room Group

Struggling to do assessments

Hi guys,

I am currently studying outdoor adventure education level 5 in university.
My niece of 8 months old sadly passed recently and i was wanting to defer and return back again next year but i have decided to stay and stick it out see how i feel after the Christmas break.

I am struggling to get back into the uni work, i have applied for extenuating circumstances and have two assessments passed due. I need help/advise as i do not want to fail and give this up.

Thanks,
Eth
Original post by Ethan2487
Hi guys,

My niece of 8 months old sadly passed recently and i was wanting to defer and return back again next year but i have decided to stay and stick it out see how i feel after the Christmas break.

I am struggling to get back into the uni work, i have applied for extenuating circumstances and have two assessments passed due. I need help/advise as i do not want to fail and give this up.

Thanks,
Eth

Hi @Ethan2487

I'm so sorry for your loss, I hope you're doing okay at the moment.

I think you've made a good decision to try and continue with your course, but of course right now it might feel like a struggle. I know you said you've reached out for extenuating circumstances, but have you spoken to any of your tutors about your recent deadlines and workload? Maybe they can offer some support? Or possibly help with the extenuating circumstances process?

But right now you should prioritize your wellbeing and time with family if you feel you need it. I'm sure you will start to get back into a routine with your work over time, but it might take some time and patience as your emotions might be running high right now.

I hope you're okay and remember to reach out to friends and family if you need some extra support.

Emily
Reply 2
Original post by BCU Student Rep
Hi @Ethan2487

I'm so sorry for your loss, I hope you're doing okay at the moment.