The Student Room Group

feeling alone at exeter uni

(for reference i am in first year) i dont have any proper friends or people who share my interests and tbh i think ill be alone most of uni, is it normal to feel this way?
Very normal, and also very not true. It is an absolute statistical certainty that there are people around you at uni who share your interests, you just have to find them. What are you doing to find them? That is the question.
Original post by Anonymous #1
(for reference i am in first year) i dont have any proper friends or people who share my interests and tbh i think ill be alone most of uni, is it normal to feel this way?

Anon,

Try not to assume the worse it's been one term! You still have the opportunity to get to know new people and to make friends who share your interests in the New Year. Have you joined any societies?

Uni can be quite isolating when you are more independent and when you are away from family, but it tends to make people more open to forming friendships, as most people are in the same situation.

You might think that you haven't made any proper friends, but who knows if you will become closer to some of the people you have got to know so far.

Friendship takes time and it's not always easy to be open with new people to provide the opportunity for them to find out about interests, personality, character, but hopefully the more relaxed you feel at uni (and confident) the easier it will get!

All the best,

Oluwatosin 3rd year student University of Huddersfield

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear this but I want to assure you that it's surprisingly common! I've experienced this during most of the university but have found that only when I was comfortable in my own company, could I use my free time to be productive and relax, that I can be more positive and comfortable in making friends in a much more casual way and seeing what grows!

I hope that makes sense and it will get easier!

All the best,
Jaz - Cardiff student rep