The Student Room Group

Advice for applying for Educational Psychology Doctorate

Help!
UK based. I want to apply to do the Educational psychologist PHD. I have the necessary degrees to do so, I have a psychology BSc and a PGCE. At this point I have been a primary teacher for over 6 years and I am currently still working as one.
What else can I do to make my application stand out?
People do get on the course from being a teacher, but many end up getting jobs as assistant EPs too to make their application stronger. It's important to focus on what you learned and the skills you developed as a result of your job related to being an EP. It is very difficult to get shadowing experience, but many services do sessions on what the job is like too
Reply 2
I always thought I was made for this job since I was about 15. I've applied twice. The last time... which was quite a few years ago now - I managed to secure a glowing personal reference from Professor Sir Cary Cooper - which I thought would make my application pop. Absolutely nothing. I guess a lot really does depend on the competition of any particular intake. About the only other thing I could think of to try to make yourself as bullet proof as possible would be the recommendation from a current Ed Psych. Certainly talk to the Course Leaders of any of the institutions you feel are viable to try to get your name in circulation. Good luck with it. We all know it is an ultra-competitive course.
They probably remove names from applications to stop any potential biases happening. Course leaders may not have their contact details advertised online or may not respond to individual queries.

They will have things they are looking for in the application and interview process, so it is about ticking those boxes. However it is very competitive too
Reply 4
Original post by Interrobang