The Student Room Group

Oxbridge

Hi, things did not go my way unfortunately in year 11. I did a total of 9 GCSE’s of which i passed 5.

Passed:
Biology: 4
Maths: 5
History: 5
English Literature: 5
English Language: 6

Failed:
Business: 2
Chemistry: 3
Physics: 3
Geography: 3

Luckily, Connell co-op college were very kind and gave me a place. I am currently studying Law, Business and Statistics A-levels.

Would i still be able to make a successful application to Oxford/Cambridge?
Original post by Abdullah924
Hi, things did not go my way unfortunately in year 11. I did a total of 9 GCSE’s of which i passed 5.

Passed:

Failed:

Luckily, Connell co-op college were very kind and gave me a place. I am currently studying Law, Business and Statistics A-levels.

It strikes me as very unlikely - unless of course you can give evidence that you were in some way heavily disadvantaged in your exams (i.e by a family breavement/illness etc).

However, GCSE’s are presumably weighted with less importance than your A levels, entrance exams and interviews (if you get that far) and strong performances in these areas could compensate for your GCSE profile (but even then, I wouldn’t be too optimistic). This being said, you will need to see how your predicted grades compare to the entry requirements for the course you are interested in before deciding whether your chances of applying successfully are in fact zero.
Reply 2