The Student Room Group

Help with a reference to a historical source from Scotland

Hi, I'm from Germany and I'm currently studying there. I'm in my 5th semester studying History, and for a seminar on Scotland's medieval history, I need to write an essay (12-15 pages, so relatively short). However, my English isn't very good (as you can see from this text, I'm struggling to write it). My topic is the role of violence in the Lanercost Chronicle. My main challenge is the source itself. It's lengthy and in English. Also, the literature I consulted is exclusively in English. I find it quite challenging. I've already extracted various things from the source using the Voyant tool, like the frequency of violence and various verbs and words such as blood, deceit, robbery, etc. My professor generally wants an overview of how violence is portrayed whether it's against churches, Jews, or women. What also interests me is violence in the form of revenge, which hasn't been articulated clearly yet. For instance, Edward I quartered, hanged, and beheaded William Wallace, but interestingly not Robert de Bruce. However, he did so to Bruce's brother and some of his followers. Is there anyone familiar with this topic who could help me?

How do I best approach this? Does anyone know the source and could provide me with some tips, page numbers, etc.? I don't have to examine the entire source. Still, it's expected that I focus on a specific section, analyze and interpret it, and, of course, place it in its historical context. I've already delved into Scottish history, but it's challenging. After all, one grows up in their own country with its history, and sometimes learning history can be similar to learning another language truly challenging . I appreciate your help in advance.:smile:
Reply 1
Your English is very good btw - you don't need to be worrying about that.

I can't answer on the specific text, just generally on how to cite the source.