The Student Room Group

Career options: Lawyer or doctor

I'm a year 10 student and I'm thinking about different career options after having a meeting with a careers adviser at school. I'm not sure if I should be a commercial barrister or a doctor. I like STEM subjects more than humanity subjects but I'm also good at humanities. I like public speaking and my English teacher said my gcse english speech was the best in the class. I think I would like both jobs. As a result I'm also beginning to look at other factors like salary. Which career earns more on average, commercial barristers or doctors? Which career is more competitive is harder to get into? How long does it take for a doctor to make good money - I heard that junior doctors are very poorly? Are there any other STEM jobs that might suit me?
Original post by VoiidDev
I'm a year 10 student and I'm thinking about different career options after having a meeting with a careers adviser at school. I'm not sure if I should be a commercial barrister or a doctor. I like STEM subjects more than humanity subjects but I'm also good at humanities. I like public speaking and my English teacher said my gcse english speech was the best in the class. I think I would like both jobs. As a result I'm also beginning to look at other factors like salary. Which career earns more on average, commercial barristers or doctors? Which career is more competitive is harder to get into? How long does it take for a doctor to make good money - I heard that junior doctors are very poorly? Are there any other STEM jobs that might suit me?

you have time to decide, people change their views in two-three years. you could go into marine biology, or become a chemist.

sure you may like stem subjects, but what's it going to be like when you do a level or a degree? would you still love the subject? many love chemistry as a science at GCSE but the moment they do a level, it's a different story.