The Student Room Group
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge

Funding & Loans / Debt - MPhil

Hi everyone,

I've been offered a place to study translational neuroscience (MPhil), which I'm very happy about, but am more stressed about the fact that I likely won't be able to attend Cambridge without enough funding as I am an overseas student.

I've already applied to a bunch of scholarships, including Gates / Cambridge Trust / a few from my home country, but I know these programs are very very competitive and I have to be realistic. I also am aware that MPhils are significantly less likely to be funded than PhDs.

My last resort would be to take out loans to fund everything, which would put me and my family in immense debt (£35k tuition + living costs).

I'm guessing quite a lot of people are / have been in a similar situation before, but can anyone provide an opinion on whether they think having to go into debt to do a 1-year Master's course is worth it?
Similar situation here tbh. If I don't get funded I probably won't go, especially since my government decided to ignore my request for funding. The internal fund of Cambridge is my last hope. Have you heard anything from them btw?
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge
Reply 2
Original post by Anonymous #2
Similar situation here tbh. If I don't get funded I probably won't go, especially since my government decided to ignore my request for funding. The internal fund of Cambridge is my last hope. Have you heard anything from them btw?
That's fair, I'm honestly not sure what I'll decide - but we won't know funding outcomes until a bit later, so I guess we just have to wait and see!

I haven't heard anything back yet unfortunately.