The Student Room Group

Med school options

Hi guys im an international student,

i have got offer at Buckingham, hull and york and uclan.
which offer should i choose and what are the pro's and cons of each uni? what factors should i consider when choosing?

also does ranking matter? what perspectives can students studying there share.
(edited 1 month ago)
Are you able to visit these places, like on an offer holder day? Or even just go visit the city? That’ll massively help you.
(edited 1 month ago)
Original post by sudhirk
which offer should i choose and what are the pro's and cons of each uni? what factors should i consider when choosing?

Hi @Sudhirk , congratulations on your offers!

I'm a current MBBS student at UCLan and so far I've loved my experience so far. When you're looking at medical schools, it's important to look at what is important to you such as teaching styles, opportunities to intercalate, clinical placements and the city itself! If you are able to, I would definitely recommend coming for a campus tour so you can see the campus itself! I chose UCLan due to it being easily commutable for me and also having early clinical placements!

When it comes to ranking, everyone has their own opinion on it but for me, it doesn't really matter as you will still graduate as a doctor!

I hope this helps!

Rebecca, 4th Year UCLan
Reply 3
Original post by Petiteroseary
Are you able to visit these places, like on an offer holder day? Or even just go visit the city? That’ll massively help you.

I'm an international so no...
Original post by sudhirk

i didn't know UCLAN had undergraduate medicine... all of these unis are about the same and ranking doesn't matter for medicine so i would base your choice entirely on the environment, which you will only be able to tell upon visiting.

personally i would pick hull and york because you get to be on the outskirts of the beautiful, safe city of York, rather than stuck in Preston or Buckingham
Reply 5