The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
hi there fairy lights, i am at jesus at present doing sps, i am in my first year, pm me if you want any info
Reply 2
i am applying too!! havent got my interview date yet (slightly worried) but i havent done any prep work and im getting worried cos i dont know when i can find time to cos stupid philosophy cwk and school work is getting in the way!! the only "prep" stuff ive done is reading newspapers (not regularly tho..) so i'm pretty much screwed!! how much prep stuff have you done??
Reply 3
Im applying for sps in Pembroke. I was informed i have to take 3 interviews :eek: No preparation yet, what's bothering me though is that 2 of my 3 interviewers are teaching branches of sociology and the third one is a director of studies in another department, so im worried that all questions are going to be sociology related and no politics... :frown:
Reply 4
id PREFER that.. i hav no knowledge of politics despite it being social and POLITICAL sciences.. i was clearly attracted to the course for the psychology aspect of it..
whens your interview?

--------------

also, it says on the website that i have to send essays to them.. yet they still haven't asked for them.. hmmm... have you lot had to send any and if so, what were yours about??
Reply 5
Im the complete opposite. I know plenty of things on politics, but sociology.....just not my thing. Theres a psychology aspect of the course? What on? And yes Pembroke asked me to send them one essay a couple of weeks ago with a nov. 18th deadline. Mine was on the German view points concerning Turkey's entrance to the E.U.
Reply 6
The course is made up of four papers in the first year:
Politics
Sociology
Social Anthropology
Psychology - Developmental and Social
You also take lectures in numeracy for social scientists which is unexamined

You then in your second year choose from one of the following:
Politics
Sociology
Psychology
Sociology and Psychology