The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Thinking of Open Uni for a second degree

Hi all. Has anyone here done a degree at a solid university and then gone on to do another one at the OU? I'm thinking of doing this but looking through all of the information about it is raising a few questions for me.

My main concern is firstly the question of whether it is worth doing it or not. I graduated from Cambridge over a year ago. I did Natural Sciences, didn't particularly have a good time, got a third class honours and don't really feel like I learnt much. Fortunately I have found a decent full-time job after graduation which is helping to pay off the debts and I am enjoying it, but the idea of giving education another shot really appeals to me. The OU is well respected these days isn't it? If my CV shows a third from Cambridge, and then (hopefully!) a 2:i or 1st from the OU 5 years later in a completely different subject, will people respect me for having another try? Or would I be better off seeing if I can get on any kind of Masters course if I want to further my study?

Also, what about the financial side of things? As I have already done one degree how does this affect funding for me? Will I need to pay more than the module prices on the website? What's changing in 2012? Should I make sure I start a module in Feb 2012 to avoid higher fees?

Finally I am a bit confused about credit transfer. The OU website seems to imply they will credit you for previous study, even for completed degrees - surely this is doing the work once, but getting a qualification for it twice? Have I got the wrong end of the stick here? I am currently thinking about doing Economics and Mathematical Sciences. My first degree included a fair bit of Maths in the first year so will I get credit transfer for this?

A lot of questions here but I really appreciate any advice anyone might have.
Reply 1