The Student Room Group

Is doing a second undergraduate degree a terrible idea?

I graduated with a solid 2:1 from Oxford university six years ago, and have been filled with deep regret ever since.

While many consider that a success, for me it really wasn't; I just had not applied myself and knew I was capable of more. At the time, I wasn't that upset; I was wrapped up in my own personal problems, and just wanted to leave Oxford and have a fresh start.

I did the bare minimum work in my final year, riding on most of what I did in second year. I know I was capable of getting a first; I had a first class average in my second year.

In my final year, I had some personal problems which meant that I didn't prioritise academic work. At the time, I didn't feel guilty about it - but now I wish I'd addressed my personal issues at the time, so that I could focus on the work.

I really want a first class undergraduate degree; not just for the sake of having it, and for my own ego, but because it will open far more doors for me career-wise (such as at the London Bar).

If I save up enough money from my current employment, and do a second BA at Cambridge or UCL/LSE/Kings, and actually put the work in this time, will my first degree result still be taken into consideration?

Some people say that a second BA is a huge waste of time and money, particularly since I won't be guaranteed a pupillage even if I do excel. Yet I feel as though my lack of a First is what is really preventing me from being considered by London Chambers, and that is to say decent London sets, not those three or four "superstar" sets (i.e. Brick Court, Blackstone), which are ridiculously competitive.
Repeating your degree to get a higher result at a huge cost isn’t going to impress any employers.

If you want to demonstrate that you’re capable of academic excellence then take an LLM and get a distinction instead of repeating your undergraduate degree
Reply 2
Original post by Lea1995