The Student Room Group

Commuting Student Advice

I'm currently in my second year at uni and am thinking of moving in with my boyfriend for my final year, although this would mean living in our hometown, where he's at uni, and commuting in to uni.

I'm just wondering if commuting students have found it hard making friends in their hometown? I have friends at uni that I'd see during the day and I'd be living near family but I just wondered if anyone struggles with not having friends around to see in evenings/weekends as all of my friends from home are at uni in different cities and I don't know how I'd make friends at home.

Any info about how other people have found it (including how you've found the whole commuting experience)/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Original post by asdfghjklEllie
I'm currently in my second year at uni and am thinking of moving in with my boyfriend for my final year, although this would mean living in our hometown, where he's at uni, and commuting in to uni.

I'm just wondering if commuting students have found it hard making friends in their hometown? I have friends at uni that I'd see during the day and I'd be living near family but I just wondered if anyone struggles with not having friends around to see in evenings/weekends as all of my friends from home are at uni in different cities and I don't know how I'd make friends at home.

Any info about how other people have found it (including how you've found the whole commuting experience)/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Most people who commute will probably have friends living where they are commuting from, or base most of their social life at uni. Why can't you see your uni friends at evenings and weekends?

In third year, you'll probably have a bit less of an active social life anyway, but perhaps you could take up a hobby one evening a week or one day at the weekend?