The Student Room Group

Reapply for a pgce??

So I went straight on to a pgce after graduating from university. I ended up leaving the course in December 2014 (after 3 months of being on it) because I found it too hard and lacked confidence in my abilities.

Since then I have been working as a teaching assistant and feel like gained much more confidence in the classroom. I am currently able to cover the class teacher when she is out on PPA which is giving me great experience of managing the whole class. I still have room for improvement as I think I'm not good at behaviour management and keeping all the children engaged - but I do think I am improving and learning how to use my voice differently etc. I am a very quiet/shy person and sometimes feel this might be seen as a negative when teaching - thoughts?

Now I'm unsure of whether to apply again for a pgce for 2016 or to enjoy some more time out. My friends want to house share with me in January and this is an opportunity to move out of my family home, have a social life and try out a different or similar job.

I want to be a teacher, I just feel like I need to believe in myself more as I've proven to myself that I am capable.

I'm just in a dilemma about starting my career or just enjoying my 20s...(I'm 22) I want to get on my feet financially but I am tempted to live with my friends.
Reply 1
Honestly, I would say you're only young once. Would you be able to afford to move out if you continue working as a TA? Teaching is no 9-5 job as I'm sure you're aware and honestly if I had the opportunity to be a TA for a year or two before starting a PGCE I would take it.

Teaching is always going to be there, true that it might start getting harder to get a place but you will have valuable experience to support your application and you will have a lot more to back you up as well as more confidence too.