The Student Room Group

Accountancy or Finance?

I am currently a year student who is looking to attend a university starting for September 2017.

- Firstly, can someone please contribute on identifying the key differences between the two?

- Secondly, from my research I think I prefer finance a lot more along with banking but most universities offer only 'accounting & finance' together rather than 'finance' or 'banking and finance' courses. So if anybody knows of universities which offer some close variation of the latter two and excludes accountancy (to an extent) can they please say their piece.

Many thanks.
The way I perceive:

Accounting: Looking at the past analysing the information
Finance: Looking forward to the future analysing inversion
Original post by ThatGuyJosh
I am currently a year student who is looking to attend a university starting for September 2017.

- Firstly, can someone please contribute on identifying the key differences between the two?

- Secondly, from my research I think I prefer finance a lot more along with banking but most universities offer only 'accounting & finance' together rather than 'finance' or 'banking and finance' courses. So if anybody knows of universities which offer some close variation of the latter two and excludes accountancy (to an extent) can they please say their piece.

Many thanks.

I actually study Accounting and Finance at university. Accountancy is focused on reporting financial information whereas finance is more to do with using the information to make investment decisions. Both are extremely important to understand as you kind of need one to understand the other fully.
Original post by aliman65
I actually study Accounting and Finance at university. Accountancy is focused on reporting financial information whereas finance is more to do with using the information to make investment decisions. Both are extremely important to understand as you kind of need one to understand the other fully.