The Student Room Group

My Year 13 Journey to A*A*A*A*

I've noticed quite a lot of these threads recently so thought I'd make my own for the upcoming academic year :biggrin:

At GCSE I got 8A*'s and 4A's. In year 12 I studied Maths A-level, Physics AS level and Chemistry AS level. My results were:
Maths: A* - 583/600
C1 100ums
C2 100ums
C3 91ums
C4 100ums
S1 99ums
M1 93ums

Physics: A - 187/200
Unit 1 87ums
Unit 2 100ums

Chemistry: A - 162/200
Unit 1 81ums
Unit 2 81 ums

I will be dropping chemistry this year to study Further Maths, Physics and Welsh Baccalaureate. I'm applying to study Physics at university - I plan on applying to Oxford, Imperial, Manchester, Warwick and an undecided 5th choice...

Over the summer I've been focusing on M2 and M3 work in preparation for the Physics Aptitude Test (PAT). I'm yet to start any A2 physics revision yet but I plan on starting within the next week or two.

I hope that this diary will act as motivation for me to study harder than last year. I will probably update it every few days with what I've covered and what I intend on doing next. Feel free to share your own thoughts/ideas/experiences with me - good luck to everyone in this new academic year :biggrin:

EDIT *JUNE 2017*
UCAS application info:

Imperial College London: MSci Physics (4 years) - Offer firmly accepted (A*A*A* in maths, further maths, physics)

Warwick: MPhys (4 Years) - Offer insured (A*AA in maths, further maths, physics any order)

Bath: MPhys (4 Years) - Offer received. Did not firm/insure

Nottingham: MPhys (4 Years) - Offer received. Did not firm/insure

Oxford: MPhys (4 Years) - No offer, unsuccessful
(edited 6 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Chemistry needs a little more work but other than keep it up! Good luck!
Reply 2
Original post by mrhedgehog
Chemistry needs a little more work but other than keep it up! Good luck!