Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    My options deadline are coming up soon and right now I take both German and Chinese for GCSE but can't decide which one to pick for IB! I've been studying Chinese since primary school and started German 4 years ago. I speak Chinese at home but not Mandarin and I'm not that good at reading/writing. I can't take both languages since I plan on taking two sciences as I want to study dentistry for uni. I'm achieving an A in Chinese (second lang) and A* in German right now. However, my school gives the option of HL Chinese B or SL Chinese A for second language students as SL B is only for foreign language students. Personally, I enjoy German more but I heard that it is hard to achieve a 7 for SL B German. Is it true? Can someone help me out? Preferably, someone who take these languages and tell me how you're finding it? Thanks!
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Getting an 7 in any HL subject is going to be harder than in any SL subject. Languages A are essentially literature options (like your group 1 English) so if you struggle to read and write you will probably do poorly.

Thus it seems German is the logical choice, given it's a strength for you, something you enjoy, and is SL but not assuming language proficiency.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by artful_lounger)
    Getting an 7 in any HL subject is going to be harder than in any SL subject. Languages A are essentially literature options (like your group 1 English) so if you struggle to read and write you will probably do poorly.

Thus it seems German is the logical choice, given it's a strength for you, something you enjoy, and is SL but not assuming language proficiency.
    Hmm yea I agree. Thanks for the advice!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by trisha_c)